Duke of Edinburgh's Award Scheme

Please follow @dofeblueschool on Twitter for regular news and updates.

The Award is a hugely successful national scheme that rewards participants for their contribution and successful participation in four sections; Volunteering, Skill, Physical and Expedition.
It is a challenge, great fun, very rewarding and looks great on any CV.

Please click here to view the presentation given to students and parents at The Blue School on Wednesday 4th October at the launch of this year's D of E Scheme.

The D of E website is essential browsing for those students participating in the Award, especially the kit list for expeditions page. You can also download a copy of the Programme Ideas Sheet for the different sections of the award. Click here for the Countryside Code.

Commiserations if you were one of the applicants that did not make it into the scheme.  The number of applicants made the process fiercely competitive with 105/165 applicants being successful.

Nearly 100% of the applications were excellent but 60% were outstanding. The rest had some of the following details lacking:
3 key sections incomplete
Application late
Applications not completed properly
EV5 form incomplete
No contact information or person to sign off
No evidence that it was arranged (names, days and times)
Personal section lacking quality/ substance
Personal section no examples given
Personal section not filled in by applicant
Silver application without completing bronze

If you applied with a cheque it will be destroyed.  If you applied with cash please go to the Finance Office at break time to receive back the application fee.
 
Please also see dates for your diary:
EDofE online registration    Tue/Wed Nov 21/22
EDofE deadline                      Mon, January 08 2018
Training Day                          Sat, January 27 2018
Payment Silver                     Mon, March 12 2018
All route card deadlines     Wed, March 21 2018
Payment Bronze                  Mon, April 09 2018
Silver kit collection              Tue, April 10 2018
Silver Expedition                  Thu, April 12 2018
Silver Kit return                    Mon, April 16 2018
Bronze kit collection           Wed, April 25 2018
Bronze expedition               Fri, April 27 2018
All route card deadlines     Wed, May 23 2018
Bronze expedition               Fri, June 08 2018
Silver kit collection              Tue, June 19 2018
Silver Expedition                 Thu, June 21 2018
Silver Kit return                   Mon, June 25 2018
Presentation evening        Wed, July 11 2018